Meetings

The ODAS Meetings Programme for 2022 is set out below.

Meetings start at 8PM, normally on the first Wednesday of every month.

The meetings may be face-to-face at Christ Church URC, Tudor Way, Petts Wood. However, depending on the Coronavirus situation, they may be held on Zoom.

More information will be given in due course.

Wednesday, 5th January 2022 (ZOOM)

Dr Jane Sidell
Inspector of Ancient Monuments – Historic England

“Time to shake off the Tweed: Inspecting Ancient Monuments in 21st century London”

Wednesday, 2nd February 2022

Martin Toy
ODAS Secretary

Second World War Structures at Scadbury”

Wednesday, 2nd March 2022

Dr Sophia Adams
Curator: European Iron Age
The British Museum

“Making and Waking the Boughton Malherbe Bronze Age hoard.”

Wednesday, 6th April 2022

Lara Band 
CITIZAN Discovery Programme Officer
East Kent Coast

“The Work of CITIZAN in discovering Coastal and Intertidal archaeology in East Kent”

Wednesday, 4th May 2022

Janet Clayton & Ann Russell

Members’ Talk

“The Mills of the River Cray and the River Darent”                                                                                                                                                

Wednesday, 1st June 2022

Roger Chapman
Treasurer, Hendon and District Archaeological Society

“Excavation at Clitterhouse farm, an Anglo-Saxon farm on the doorstep of Brent Cross”

Wednesday, 6th July 2022

Rebecca Haslam
Senior Archaeologist
Pre-Construct Archaeology

“Recent Excavations at Roman Ewell”

Wednesday, 3rd August 2022

No Meeting

Wednesday, 7th September 2022

Nichola Arthur
Institute of Archaeology – UCL

“Archaeological human remains from The London reaches of the Thames

Wednesday, 5th October 2022

Andrew Mayfield
Community Archaeologist -Royal Greenwich Park

“Uncovering the secrets of Greenwich Park”

Wednesday, 2nd November 2022

Jo Ahmet
Finds Liaison Officer – Kent County Council

“Overview of Portable Antiquities Scheme with discussion of the history of Kent in objects”

Wednesday, 7th December 2022

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING